Class 130 Lesson 6: Cutting Segments, Chain Piecing, and Butting Seams

“It always seems impossible until it’s done.”

Sometimes I lack the motivation to begin. Or begin again. Or pick up where I left off. I sometimes have to trick myself into starting. But once I do, I’m always so glad that I did.

img_7756

I was so busy doing this lesson, I forgot to take detailed pictures along the way.

Instead, I’ll write out the best parts of the method Harriet teaches:

  • Checking and trimming at every opportunity keeps me present in the piecing.
  • Trimming after pressing really makes strips and blocks beautiful during the process.
  • Methodically stacking and laying out the blocks next to the machine keeps the flow of work at the machine steady and consistent.
  • Chain piecing keeps everything together and going along with less starting and stopping.
  • Butting seams (and using a stiletto to send the fabric under the needle) makes for straighter seams and connections.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

What about you? How do you get started when things are beginning? Do you have a piecing method that works for you?

This post is part of a series where I work through Quilter’s Academy, a book by Harriet Hargrave & Carrie Hargrave. See archives for the rest of the series.

Save

2 thoughts on “Class 130 Lesson 6: Cutting Segments, Chain Piecing, and Butting Seams

  1. I intend on going through your blog archives. So very interesting. Also, I have a quote for you, if you haven’t used it already: Most things are difficult before they are easy.

    My husband does fused glass and I bought this for him years ago. I forgot about it until I was in his shop last night and saw it sitting on a shelf. Good reminder…

    1. Cindy! Thanks for visiting, I’m happy to have you! I’m totally going to have to use that quote, because it’s just so true. Every time. Sometimes I forget that things I find easy now were once really hard!

join the conversation

