QA Class 140 Lesson 2: Cutting and ironing area refinements

“Create the things you wish existed.”

I did some major brainstorming with this lesson. I wasted a lot of time wishing for a huge room dedicated to sewing quilts. It didn’t magically appear, so I took the key points from this lesson and fit them to my own little space in the guest bedroom.

This lesson talks about a dedicated cutting space and improvements to the ironing station, namely the iron you use and adding a can of starch to your supply list.

I had to make sacrifices. I was not going to have an expensive new iron, and I was not going to be able to have a dedicated cutting table accessible from all sides. But I found an iron that works much better than the one that was leaking grunge all over my fabrics.

dsc_0823

My cutting space is great, it looks like a thick piece of plywood attached to some 2×6 scrap lumber I found at Home Depot. It’s a little riser that fits nicely on the back of my sewing machine table to bring it to the correct Harriet height for cutting when I stand up. It fits my table and my cutting mat, and stores away when not in use. I love it. I had plans to paint it, but I like the grippy surface of the unfinished wood. I simply rotate my sewing table whenever I need to cut.

dsc_0824

As far as my ironing area, I made this awesome ironing table. It has made the biggest difference when straightening fabric and pressing strips. I could not imagine quilting without it now! I store it in my closet when it’s not in use.

dsc_0825

Behind my ironing table, you can see my smallish design board, adapted from this tutorial.

These improvements don’t look pinterest worthy, but they fit my space and my needs perfectly. They work so well with the flow of sew, press, trim, repeat.

What about you? Have you made any small adjustments that ended up making a big difference to your sewing flow?

This post is part of a series where I work through Quilter’s Academy, a book by Harriet Hargrave & Carrie Hargrave. See archives for the rest of the series.

2 thoughts on “QA Class 140 Lesson 2: Cutting and ironing area refinements

  1. Isn’t it fun to make a space your own? I also did the small things that would really make a difference, like the design wall and ironing board. I had room for a small cutting table, so found a table on CraigsList and my hubby added PVC tubes to the legs to raise it up to the right height. It was inexpensive and really helped! Enjoy the adventure!

join the conversation

