QA Class 140 Lesson 3: Useful gadgets

“Have the right tool for the right job.”

There are so many tempting sewing gadgets available. These are the ones that make my “desert island quilting” list. Seriously. Wouldn’t you love to be deserted on an island to quilt away your days?

IMG_1891 (1)

  • Pipe cleaners for cleaning out the little machine crevices.
  • Nutrigena norwegian formula hand cream. This stuff helps me keep control of the fabric as I use my fingers to guide it through the machine.
  • Prescentia 60wt 3-ply for piecing, color 216
  • Universal 75/11 machine needles (change every quilt top)
  • Simple seam ripper that came from my grandmother
  • Gingher thread snips
  • The little screw driver that came with my machine
  • A stiletto that I can’t find anymore
  • Graph paper, and a multi-layered masking tape seam guide (see Class 130.2)
  • Not pictured here, I use blue-headed Clover long, extra fine patchwork pins in a magnetic holder. I’m a snob about them and I absolutely love em!

What about you? What is on your desert island quilting gadget list?

This post is part of a series where I work through Quilter’s Academy, a book by Harriet Hargrave & Carrie Hargrave. See archives for the rest of the series.

join the conversation

