QA Class 140 Lesson 4 Project: Harriet’s Triple Rail Fence Quilt

I finished “Harriet’s Triple Rail Fence Quilt” top! I’m naming mine “April Showers.”

dsc_0827

I’m excited how it turned out, especially the way the herring-bone zig-zags across the quilt. What a fun and simple way to use two strip sets to make a fun eye-catching design.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I love the advice that Harriet gives about picking a large-scale floral, and picking out the rest of the colors based on the colors in the floral. I picked a wild bright floral, and ended up choosing a variety of wild tones that made my pattern a bit busier than Harriet’s example, but it suits. There were some fun subtle prints – the waves and the raindrops – check it out!

img_7852

There is a note in this pattern that has you make a mock-up using color copies of the fabric before piecing. I struggled with this! I found that there were a bajillion ways to combine the fabric I chose, and I have a hard time choosing one among bajillion! But after texting the bajillion pictures to a friend, with her help I was able to make a decision.

The mock-up helped me understand the way the design was made with two different “strip sets” and having it for reference really helped later when I was laying out the blocks!

img_8179

I just love how the starching and pressing practice on this quilt made it so easy to sew the strips together. Everything ended up lying so flat and square!

dsc_0829

I got impatient and attached borders to this quilt before I learn the Harriet way. But this top was just begging to be contained a bit. The fabric on the border kinda cracks me up. It’s so directional! All those lime green flowers lined up on the edge make me so happy.

img_8166

What about you? Have you ever used a large print to determine your color choice? Have you made a quilt using “strip sets”?

This post is part of a series where I work through Quilter’s Academy, a book by Harriet Hargrave & Carrie Hargrave. See archives for the rest of the series.

join the conversation

